Been a busy month!

This month has been very busy. I had the choice at times to either do my daily practice or do a new blog post and I chose to do my practice. I sat quietly contemplating the new year and things to come. I often do this just like a lot of people as the year comes to an end. Many people start making resolutions and commitments to change their life in some major way. I have stayed away from this.(major life changing, hard to commit to resolutions) I do set goals for things in my life. Talking about my practice though, the path has been laid out before me and I continue to walk it, in time knowing I will get to where I need to be in the end. All knowing in this moment I am where I should be at this moment too. For today only…
For today only can help in so many ways. When we think about our practice as a life long journey it can become this huge mountain to climb. But if we focus on this moment and let go of the rest we can climb that mountain just as the climbers do climbing Everest. They climb a bit, stay get acclimated for a while, then climb on. To survive they can only think about each step they take the very moment they are in. We must do the same. It is all for today only, we are not promised tomorrow or even later today. So make resolutions if you want, don’t get down on yourself if you slip up or it seems like an unlikely thing to accomplish, hold for today only in your heart and mind. Take it one breath at a time. I wish you the best in the new year, and with any goals or resolutions you make! For today only may really mean for this very moment.
Blessings,
Candice

One thought on “Been a busy month!

  1. Amen! For today only is all we have. I have heard a saying repeatedly in recent months, and it’s kind of cheesy, but I like it anyway. Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery; today is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present.

    Blessings Candice!
    Corrine

Leave a Reply

